The Frank F. Ferris Award for Planning Excellence

The Frank F. Ferris II Planning Award was created by the Hamilton County Regional Planning Commission in 1995 to recognize and honor the lifelong dedication of Mr. Frank F. Ferris II to municipal, county, and regional planning activities. It is awarded annually to a local planning commission or planning committee whose efforts have contributed to the elevation of planning principles, greater awareness of the value of planning, and improved quality of life.

2017 winners awarded in 2018:

The Hamilton County Regional Planning Commission is pleased to announce that the Village of Silverton has been named the 2017 FRANK F. FERRIS II COMMUNITY PLANNING AWARD. Robert "Bob" Polewski has been awarded the Melvin D. Martin Leadership in Planning Award. The awards were presented at the Hamilton County Planning Partnership Annual Meeting on Friday, March 23rd, at Cooper Creek Event Center in the City of Blue Ash.

Village of Silverton

The Village of Silverton's "Arts in Public Spaces Master Plan" won in the Development of a Plan category. Silverton strategically planned by taking a comprehensive approach in 2008 in their comprehensive plan, then evaluating this plan to determine what still needed to be done, and then making incremental and strategic development happen in the community. As a part of the Comprehensive Plan, the Village has created an art program. Silverton planned out art pieces and murals with funding sources to create gateways into the community, connected with partners, and engaged and employed residents in the transformation process and revitalization of the community.

"The Silverton Art in Public Spaces Master Plan is noteworthy because it is rooted in our community master plan, provides a funding source for continuous plan implementation, engaged individuals from the community who otherwise rarely engage, and will itself be a catalyst for Silverton's emerging revitalization." - Tom Carroll, Village Manager

Bob Polewski

Robert "Bob" Polewski is the first Melvin D. Martin Leadership in Planning Award winner. The Melvin D. Martin Leadership in Planning Award is a new individual award added this year to celebrate people that have served in planning efforts in Hamilton County.

Bob Polewski has served on commissions and committees in Miami Township and Hamilton County for nearly 20 years. Bob's service includes the Hamilton County Board of Zoning Appeals in 1999 and 2000 and the Hamilton County Rural Zoning Commission from 2000-2013 and 2014 to present.

As a resident of Miami Township, Bob also serves on the Miami Township Land Use Committee. He played a key role in the 2015 land use plan process where he presented the Land Use Committee's findings to the Township Trustees for adoption. He was the Vice-Chairman of the Planning Committee that created the first Land Use Plan for Miami Township in 1993.

Past Winners Include:

  •  2016- 2 Winners-‚Äč City of Montgomery (Gateway Redevelopment Area Master Plan) and Walnut Hills Redevelopment Foundation (Walnut Hills Reinvestment Plan)
  • 2015 - 2 Winners - Delhi Township (Plan the Pike) and City of Cincinnati (New Police District 3 Headquarters)
  • 2014 - 2 Winners - City of Deer Park (2035 Vision Plan) and Village of Evendale (Bike and Pedestrian Master Plan)
  • 2013 - Anderson Township (Downtown Anderson Plan)
  • 2012 - Plan Cincinnati - City of Cincinnati Planning Commission
  • 2011 - Village of Lincoln Heights & Model Group - Valley Homes Redevelopment
  • 2010 - Village of Greenhills (Comprehensive Plan Process and Citizen Participation)
  • 2009 - 2 Winners - Springdale (Tri-County Retail District Plan for Revitalization) and Price Hill Will (Glenway Market Study and Redevelopment Plan)
  • 2008 - Climate Protection Steering Committee (Green Cincinnati Plan)
  • 2007 - The North College Hill Planning Commission's Comprehensive Plan
  • 2006 - City of Montgomery, The Montgomery Road Corridor Design Guidelines
  • 2005 - Anderson Township Transportation Advisory Committee for Anderson Trails
  • 2004 - Springfield Township (The Winton Road Streetscape and Zoning Overlay Plan)
  • 2003 - Cincinnati Tomorrow (the Creative City Plan) and Greenhills Village Council (Dewitt Street Housing Redevelopment Project)
  • 2002 - Carthage Civic League (The Mills of Carthage)
  • 2001 - City of Madeira (Miami Avenue Street Beautification Plan)
  • 2000 - Riverfront Advisors (The Banks)
  • 1999 - Anderson Township (Anderson Trails Master Plan)
  • 1998 - Columbia Township (Wooster Corridor Land Use Plan)
  • 1997 - City of Forest Park (Kemper Meadows Business Plan)
  • 1996 - Sycamore Township (Comprehensive Planning Program)
  • 1995 - City of Blue Ash (Downtown Development)

For further information contact: 
Steve Johns   - Planning Services Administrator 
(513) 946-4455