Boards and Commissions

The Planning + Development Department is responsible for or administer six boards & commissions. Information on each can be found in the menu on the left, as well as links to their agendas. Each board or commission also includes a link back to their respective Board of County Commissioners information page. These boards and commissions are listed below.

Board of Building Appeals
  • The Board of Building Appeals hears and decide appeals from adjudication orders of the Building Commissioner pertaining to the enforcement within his jurisdiction.
Board of Building Standards
  • The Board of Building Standards adopts rules and regulations, governing the erection, repair, alteration and maintenance of all buildings, structures and accessory structures, and associated equipment not under the jurisdiction of the Ohio Board of Building Standards.
Board of Storm Drainage Variances and Appeals
  • The Board of Storm Drainage Variances and Appeals adopts, publishes, administers and enforces Rules and Regulations governing the construction and development within Special Flood Hazard Areas and operation of the storm drainage systems in the unincorporated areas of Hamilton County
Board of Zoning Appeals
  • The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) hears cases related to appeals, variance, nonconforming uses, compatible nonconforming uses and conditional uses.
Regional Planning Commission
  • The Regional Planning Commission (RPC) provides advisory planning services to the unincorporated areas (12 townships) of the County. The Commission's various planning activities include programs for subdivision compliance, community planning, development review and census/data and information systems.
Rural Zoning Commission
  • The Rural Zoning Commission (RZC) administers and enforces zoning regulations and provide contract services to a number of townships and villages in Hamilton County.